Consumer Rewards Hub; so many web scams, so little time

While I was looking at ProShot HDX phone lenses, I realized I’d stumbled onto a scam factory in Minneapolis. So I thought it would be interesting to look at this operation some more!

One angle these folks are trying is to pool all their scams together in a catalog.  This is a real timesaver for me, because they all share the same terms and policies. I think it’s a safe guess that they also share the same credibility, such as it is.   Keep in mind that I’m not talking about illegal or wrong behavior; I’m talking about signs that a seller is a scammer (someone who takes your money by trickery or theft). I’m using my Scam-O-Meter scoring system; -1 means true, +1 means false, and 0 means undetermined.

Ridiculous claims: +1.  None found! This website looks pretty classy. But stick with me; the looks are deceiving.

Post Office box:  0.  225 Thomas Ave. N. Suite R – Minneapolis MN 55405.  Okay, it’s a real place. But the point of this question is to see what we can learn about the vendor’s credibility from their location. And it’s shared by a slew of other web businesses. This does not look good.

Onerous terms: -1.

  • They don’t guarantee that you’ll be satisfied with their products. Nor that anything they say is true.
  • To get a refund, you have to return your product within 30 days from your purchase–or from delivery, depending on which sentence you’re reading.  You have to return it in its original package, unopened and unused. How can you tell whether anything is wrong with it?
  • You can’t return a long list of product types.
  • You can’t return an item that was sale priced. And most of their items seem to be sale priced.

Ads, spam, robocalls: +1.  they do collect information about you. If you opt in, they use it to email you advertising. You can opt out.

Lying and deception: -1.  “Every time you make a purchase, you earn a reward. It’s that simple.”  Okay, what kind of reward? Do I get points toward some free stuff?  Airplane miles?  At the top of each page, I see “Redeem your rewards today!” What does this sentence mean?

Obfuscation: -1.  In order to see the Refund Policy, Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, you must first put something in your shopping basket and start check out.

Phony reviews: +1.  None found.

Crummy product: 0.  This catalog only has five products on March 25, 2017.  They include this crummy phone lens kit and this mediocre flashlight. I didn’t evaluate the other three products.

Overpriced: -1.  the lens kit and the flashlight were overpriced.

Unauthorized charges: +1.  I found no evidence of this.


Final score; 0

Honestly, I don’t like this outfit.  It looks to me like it would be practically impossible to get a reward or a refund out of these guys.  If you’d like to shop a catalog, try Amazon.

2 thoughts on “Consumer Rewards Hub; so many web scams, so little time

  1. DrDorie/ericksonPhD

    Procera products should not e downgraded as a scam. Much scientific research went into the development of these fully tested products,. Shame on whomever intimted Procera on this site s a scam, for not doing our own unbiased research. DrEricksonPhD

    Like

    Reply
    1. pablovilas13 Post author

      To my knowledge, I didn’t write about a Procera product. Please correct me if I’m wrong.

      In general, a scam may involve a good product. In that case it’s the way the product is sold that’s deceptive.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

